menu MENU

Awards and Recognitions

  • Ted Kennedy Family Faculty Team Excellence Award, For Leading Center for Objective Microelectronic and Biomimetic Advance Technology (COMBAT), College of Engineering, The University of Michigan, March 2018.
  • NASA Group Achievement Award for outstanding contributions to the development of the Soil Moisture Active Passive mission and demonstration of its scientific and societal impact, 2018.
  • Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), “For broad contributions to the field of applied electromagnetics, to engineering education, and to sustained economic growth,” November 2016. 
  • IEEE Technical Activity Board Certificate of Recognition and Appreciation, November 2016.
  • Distinguished Alumni Award, selected as the Top 50 Graduates of the Past 50 years, Sharif University of Technology, May 2016.
  • The 2015-2016 Stephen S. Attwood Award from the College of Engineering. This award, which is the highest honor awarded to a faculty member by the College of Engineering, recognizes “extraordinary achievement in teaching, research, service, and other activities that have brought distinction to the College and University.”
  • The 2013 IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society Education Award.
  • The IEEE 2011 Judith A. Resnik Award with “For contribution to space-based microwave and millimeter-wave polarimetric radar remote sensing of the Earth’s surface for civilian and military applications”.
  • The 2010 Distinguished Faculty Achievement Award from the University of Michigan.
  • Appointed as the Rufus S. Teesdale Professor of Engineering. This endowed professorship is given in recognition of Prof. Sarabandi’s sustained excellence in research, teaching, and service within the College of Engineering, January 2009.
  • Member of  NASA Advisory Council appointed by the NASA Administrator, 2008-2010.
  • Humboldt Research Award from The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation of Germany granted to scientists and scholars from all disciplines whose fundamental discoveries, new theories, or insights have had a significant impact on their own discipline April 2008. 
  • NASA Certificate of Appreciation for Significant Contribution to the Workshop on Science Associated with the Lunar Exploration Architecture, from Dr. Michael Griffin NASA Administrator, and Senator Harrison H. Schmitt Chairman of NASA Advisory Council, March 2007.
  • Member of NASA Advisory Council appointed by the NASA Administrator, 2006-2008.
  • The University of Michigan Faculty Recognition Award, “For Outstanding Contributions as a Teacher, Scholar, and Member of the University Community”, October 2005. A university wide award given to few faculty members in a year. 
  • Distinguished Achievement Award, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Society, “For Outstanding Research in Advancement of Theoretical and Experimental Radar Remote Sensing,” July 2005. The highest award the IEEE GRS society can bestow upon an individual.
  • College of Engineering Research Excellence Award, The University of Michigan, March 2004.
  • Fellow of IEEE, “For contribution to modeling of radar remote sensing, and to establish the connections between the coherent and incoherent domains of radar polarimetry,” January 2000.
  • The 1999 German-American Council Foundation (GAAC) Distinguished Lecturer Award from the German Federal Ministry for Education, Science, and Technology given to 10 individuals in all fields of science, engineering, medicine, and law.
  • 1998 Army Research Laboratory Advanced Sensors Consortium Research Excellence Award, with Moonsoo Park.
  • HP Equipment Award ($300K) for establishing a microwave teaching laboratory, April 1997.
  • The Henry Russel Award, The Regent of The University of Michigan, January 1997. (The highest award granted to an associate professor at The University of Michigan).
  • Teaching Excellence Award, Department of Elect. Eng. and Comp. Sci., The University of Michigan, March 1996.
  • HP Equipment Award ($100K), initiation of a wireless laboratory, June 1993.
  • Listed in American Men and Women of Science, Who’s Who in American, and Who’s Who in Science and Engineering.